Our Offices & Partners Abroad

For detailed information please click on the offices and cultural centres below. For further information on the headquarters in Zurich please go to: www.prohelvetia.ch

ANT Adaptation Visual Arts

artHARARE Contemporary Art

Harare, Zimbabwe (online)

July – December 2021

Find out more

artHARARE is an artist-run project that is dedicated to promoting and supporting the development of the contemporary arts scene in Zimbabwe and the Zimbabwean diaspora. It is co-founded by artist Richard Mudariki and art historian and entrepreneur Aya Koudounaris. The project takes advantage of the adaptation of the art world to the digital space and the rising interest in contemporary African art. artHARARE 2021 will go live online from 7 -12 December 2021 and showcase Zimbabwean emerging and established visual artists, artists collectives and curated exhibitions.

artHARARE aims to be a dynamic platform that is engaged in contemporary dialogue and exchange with the African and international art community. It will work with individual artists and cultural producers living and working in Zimbabwe and the Zimbabwean diaspora (UK, USA, Canada, France, Germany, China, Dubai, Netherlands, South Africa and Botswana). The fair will exhibit paintings, prints, drawings, photographs, mixed-media work, sculptures and interdisciplinary artworks. The project aims to bring value to the local art community by creating a strong sense of community for local artists and national pride for Zimbabwean artists in the diaspora emerging from this homegrown event. The art fair will generate new audiences for participating artists and showcase fresh and exciting art that could otherwise go unnoticed. Dialogue and debate among artists and art professional will encourage new ideas and opportunities to network. artHARARE hopes to empower local artists, create new markets for their work and participate in the growing interest in contemporary African art by international art collectors. 

Artists included in artHARARE 2021

Portia Zvavahera; Cosmas Shiridzinomwa; Wallen Mapondera; Richard Mudariki; Moffat Takadiwa; Virginia Chihota; Gareth Nyandoro; Kresiah Mukwazhi; Admire Kamudzengerere; Kudzanai Chiurai; Kudzanai Violet Hwami; Prudence Chamutuwah; Tamary Kudita; Johnson Mugabe ; Franklyn Dzingai; Greg Shaw; Dan Halter; Michele Mathison; Masimba Hwati; Terence Musekiwa; Mukudzei Muzondo; John Kotze; Ephias Maposa; Evan Tinashe Matenga; Johnson Zuze; Lovemore Kambudzi; Richard Witikani; Victor Nyakauru; Kufa Makwavarara; David Chinyama; Tafadzwa Tega; Ronald Muchatuta.