Our Offices & Partners Abroad

For detailed information please click on the offices and cultural centres below. For further information on the headquarters in Zurich please go to: www.prohelvetia.ch

Music SDC

Afrikan Freedom Principle Composers Workshop

The Afrikan Freedom Principle is a Concert Series that was initially set up presented in Cape Town from 2013 to 2014 . At present it is an umbrella movement that has collaborated with luminaries such as Shabaka Hutchings (UK) winner of the 2013 MOBO award for Jazz, Louis Tebogo Moholo Moholo the last remaining band member of the highly influential Blue Notes and Brotherhood of Breath, Dizu Plaatjies founder member of Amampondo and Errol Dyers pioneer of the Goema genre in the Western Cape.

Matchume Zango (Moz), Cara Stacey (Swazi) and Mandla Mlangeni (SA).

From the 15 th to the 28 th of May 2017 the Afrikan Freedom Principle will set course a music intervention program presented and facilitated by Matchume Zango (Moz), Cara Stacey (Swazi) and Mandla Mlangeni (SA).

Spread out across various venues and educational institutions across Johannesburg. Afrikan Freedom Principle is set to facilitate cultural participation through music and the arts.

In its 2017 incarnation, the Afrikan Freedom Principle travels to Johannesburg and Soweto specifically to investigate how these types of collaborations can be re-articulated into educational models for learner musicians. A series of compositional workshops are planned for 2017 (15th – 30th May) in which three regional composers of different musical backgrounds meet to create music together and to facilitate workshops and performances with local students.